Stan Kelly Lecture


The Stan Kelly Memorial Lecture was established by the ‘modest member’ Bert Kelly, in honour of Bert’s father Stan.

William Stanley Kelly was a member of the Commonwealth Tariff Board from 1929 to 1939, an advisor to the Commonwealth Prices Commissioner from 1942 to 1948, chaired the Joint Industry Advisory Authority from 1951 to 1953 and was a member of the Consultative Committee on Import Policy from 1952 to 1960. Because of his rural interests, he was long interested in reducing tariffs which he saw as an indirect tax on rural producers. He was a lifelong champion of free trade.

The Lecture is held every two years, and is one of the Economic Society of Australia’s most prestigious events.

Previous speakers:


2015 - Peter Dixon
2013 - Gary Banks
2011 - Tim Harcourt
2008 - Bruno Frey
2002 - Anne Krueger
1999 - Lindsay Tanner
1997 - Richard Sharpe
1995 - Tony Cole
1993 - Ross Garnaut
1991 - Ian McLachlan
1989 - Leslie Melville
1987 - John McDonnell
1985 - Bob Hawke
1983 - Robert Johnston
1981 - John Stone
1979 - John Uhrig 


Share this with your friends


map Queensland New South Wales Australian Capital Territory Victoria Tasmania South Australia Western Australia