Young Professionals Network

Economics Society of Australia (Young Professionals) (Vic) is affiliated with the Economics Society of Australia and the national Young Economists Network.

We provide networking and professional development opportunities to early career professionals and post-graduate students.

Contact Us if you'd like to join the Young Professionals Network

The scope of the Young Professionals Network is intentionally vague – early-to-mid career professionals interested in meeting others working in the field of economics – if in doubt, please consider yourself welcome to join.


Michael Lombardo - President, Young Professionals Network

Michael is a Senior Economist at the Victorian Treasury. After moving from Perth to Melbourne in 2018, he has supported the delivery of a number of key economic projects for the Victorian Government ranging from energy, climate change, natural resources and social housing. Michael is eager to increase the ESAYP’s outreach with the Victorian public service.

Aneeq Sarwar - Treasurer, Young Professionals Network

Aneeq is currently employed by Australian Industry Group (Ai Group) as Senior Economist, and sits on the Minimum Wage Research Group for the Fair Works Commission. His main research interests are innovation, scientometrics, big data, energy modelling, and natural language processing. His doctoral thesis involved utilising machine learning and high-performance computing to examine climate change innovation, the flow of knowledge & IP.

Miguel Ayala - Young Professional Council Member

Miguel is an Economist at BIS Oxford Economics. He is currently part of the Economic Impact Consulting team, prior to this role he was part of the Macro Consulting team where he already has been part of several distinct projects for the private and public sector. Miguel joined BIS Oxford Economics as a graduate. He holds a B.Com from Griffith University and M.Econ in Economics from Monash University. Miguel is keen to support ESAYP's programs to enhance existing and new members' experience at ESAYP and the broader ESA VIC community. 

Ian Hamilton – Young Professionals Council Member

Ian is an economist and public policy adviser. He has worked across various levels of government including the Prime Minister’s department, Victorian departments of Health and Economic Development, as well as microfinance in Cambodia. He is interested in helping people to build (and rebuild!) their professional networks in economics after almost 2 years of lockdowns and virtual-only interactions.

David Hurley - Young Professionals Council Member

David is a management consultant providing advice to executive-level clients at ASX200 companies. Previously, David worked as a consultant to Victorian and Commonwealth governments on projects in transport, health and human services sectors. Previously, he completed an honours degree in Economics from Monash University and also holds Bachelors in Arts and Economics.

Saeideh Khosroshahi - Young Professional Council Member

Saeideh is a Senior Regulatory Economist at Essential Services Commission (Victoria). She holds a PhD in urban water economics from La Trobe University. Her research on conservation tariffs and customers’ preferences have been published and presented in leading international journals and conferences. Prior to joining the Commission in 2019, Saeideh was a lecturer at the La Trobe University and University of South Australia, teaching both undergraduate and postgraduate economics units. Saeideh is passionate about supporting young female economists and promoting their voices.

Lucy Mraz – Young Professionals Council Member

Lucy is a Senior Economic Analyst in Energy and Climate Advisory at Deloitte Access Economics. She is passionate about developing sustainable economies and enjoys applying her economics skills to solve complex challenges in environmental sustainability and natural resources management. Working with public and private clients at all levels, Lucy provides economic advisory across climate change, decarbonisation, energy and water markets, and utility regulation. Coming out of lockdown, Lucy is excited to help young economists connect and further develop their careers.

Turlough Sullivan - Young Professional Council Member

Turlough is a recent Master of Applied Economics and Econometrics graduate with a keen interest in economic policy and its implications on labour market outcomes. He has previously worked for the Australian Taxation Office and an analytics management consultancy firm. Among other things, Turlough actively enjoys reading new economic research papers and looks forward to helping develop the ESA network.

Photo Gallery